Elated by medals, humbled by Masters! My first National Games.

I won two silver (50 meters butterfly and 100 meters freestyle) and one bronze (50 meters freestyle) in the just finished National Masters Games in Vadodara, Gujarat, India.

Thousands of athletes from all over india competed with the best in their age group for glory in sports.

The atmosphere and camaraderie experienced is equal or even better than a university games.

Some of the participants are really aged. It’s heartening to see some of them barely managing to climb the stairs, but roaring in the pool with graceful strokes in the water. Similar is the case with other events.

It’s my first national meet. Work took me outside India and that probably is the only excuse I have for not participating earlier.

Here I am to stay, and try earnestly to fulfill my stated objective of competing in a world championship.

One gold today was an objective. A slightly different approach of selecting a different style in place of freestyle would have given me that opportunity. But the humbling by real masters is a learning experience.

I will search gold and learn from Masters for which I will be training earnestly.

Come join us in the Masters journey.

Elated by medals, humbled by Masters! My first National Games.

25 thoughts on “Elated by medals, humbled by Masters! My first National Games.

Leave a comment