Mango Has a Season. Making it Longer!

Manga Thera (Mango Bars) made through a laborious process using the Kerala local variety of small bunchy mangoes is an all time favourite and a unique delicacy.

My mother used to make the best theras and I wanted to try and make it. But this season is taken away by the virus.

Recently my daughter sent me a recipe of making rolls or bars with raw mango and chilli powder. So I got the Bangalore local variety Totapuri.

That’s when the idea struck me, how about manga Thera with ripe Totapuri! Totapuri is local, pest and pesticide free larger mangoes which are cheap too.

But I don’t have the wherewithal to make it the traditional style in Bangalore. So innovate.

Here it’s three ripe Tatapuris skinned, de seeded and made into a pulp. Added some rice powder and jaggery. A teaspoon each of ginger and cardamom powder into it and the mix spread on the baking tray.

My wife named it Mango Fudge and this tastes really good.

Mango Has a Season. Making it Longer!

Leave a comment